Mississippi Wage Theft Lawyer
Wage theft can be defined as the failure to pay fair and legal wages for hours worked. Unfortunately, it is much more common than many may think, and more importantly is often a federal crime. Since individuals depend on their wage and overtime compensation to pay bills, rent, and other expenses on time, wage theft can be tremendously damaging and dangerous to someone’s financial well-being. An experienced Mississippi wage theft lawyer could represent workers who have been wrongfully denied their wages, handling each case diligently to ensure they can receive the compensation they rightfully earned. Read on to learn more about how a skilled employment attorney could offer you their assistance today.
Minimum Wage Requirements in Mississippi
Mississippi does not have a state minimum wage law, but the provisions of the federal minimum wage law still apply. The Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) is the federal law that governs various employment issues, including minimum wage and overtime compensation. The standards established under the FLSA apply across all sectors of public and private employment in the United States. The minimum wage in Mississippi is currently $7.25 per hour, the same as the federal minimum. Most employees are entitled to receive this minimum hourly wage.
However, there are exceptions in limited circumstances, such as when an employee receives tips, is a full-time student, is disabled, or is under 20 years of age during the first three months of their employment. Tipped employees who regularly earn more than $30 per month in tips must be paid a minimum of $2.13 per hour by their employer. If the tips received by the employee along with the $2.13 hourly rate do not meet the $7.25 minimum wage, the employer must compensate for the difference. A qualified Mississippi wage theft lawyer may be able to represent those who have been denied these rights.
Mississippi Overtime Pay Requirements
While there is no limit in Mississippi on the number of hours an employee may work on a weekly basis, working more than 40 hours in a given week may entitle an employee to receive overtime. Any non-exempt employee should be paid at a rate of 1.5 times their normal pay for any hours worked above 40 in one week. Overtime is not required for work completed on holidays and weekends. Unfortunately, companies that are pressured or motivated to make profits sometimes wrongfully withhold overtime pay to increase profit margins. Cases of wage theft involving failure to pay overtime may be the result of employers:
- Failing to pay workers for hours worked during breaks
- Falsifying time records to remove overtime hours
- Misclassifying workers as independent contractors or other workers who are exempt from overtime requirements
- Failure to compensate for work done before and after a shift or off-the-clock
Know that a dedicated Mississippi wage theft lawyer can offer assistance to individuals who are not being paid the wages they deserve by holding the employer accountable for their actions in court. Reach out to a determined employment attorney to learn more.
How a Mississippi Wage Theft Lawyer Can Help
If you believe your employer has committed wage theft of any kind for any reason, a wage theft attorney in Mississippi could review your case and advise you about the likelihood of successfully recovering unpaid wages or damages. Employers who knowingly violate the overtime or minimum wage provisions of the FLSA may also be subject to additional criminal penalties. Get in touch with the Employment and Consumer Law Group today to schedule a consultation and get your questions about wage theft answered.